Woodson Policies & Procedures

Woodson Research Center staff will provide assistance in accessing our primary source materials (university archives and special collections) and rare books. Scroll or click below to find details about:

Woodson Materials

Woodson staff can assist you in identifying research materials relevant to your subject, whether in person or by phone, mail, or e-mail. For distance patrons, Woodson staff will assist in dedicated research from twenty minutes up to one hour's time for a research fee of $25.

For extensive research assistance beyond one hour, the Woodson maintains a list of proxy researchers who are available to help for a fee. Please contact the Woodson Research Center by calling 713-348-2586 or emailing the staff at woodson@rice.edu and ask about proxy researchers who can be hired to conduct on-site research.

Scanning Woodson Materials

Woodson Research Center can assist patrons with scanning items from the archives, rare book, or manuscript collections. The Woodson provides a flatbed scanner for public use. Scanning requests must be approved by Woodson staff in order to protect fragile materials. View our pricing schedule and additional details.

Publishing Woodson Materials

Woodson Research Center can help you publish material you find in the archives. The Woodson Research Center use policy is that researchers assume sole responsibility for any infringement of privacy,  literary rights, copyrights, or other rights arising from their use of the archival materials. Read more about publishing Woodson Materials or submit a Duplication of Materials Form.
 

Donor and Community Archiving Support

Woodson Research Center can provide expert advice on the following:

  • Personal archiving
  • Process of donating or selling materials to an archive
  • Donating electronic or audio/visual materials to the Woodson
  • Appraising your books or personal collections

Please see below for more information or contact us by email at woodson@rice.edu

Personal Archiving Information

How should you take care of your family's books, photos, textile, and digital objects?

Donor & Community Consultations

Interested in placing your materials at Woodson Research Center or possibly another archive?

Preservation Services

Looking for conservation or preservation assistance?

Fondren Library does have a preservation department for the repair and longevity of our collection; however, it does not provide these services to the public. Visit Fondren's preservation page for resources on taking care of your private collection.
 

Woodson Research Center Policies & Forms

Find more information about our departmental policies & available forms.

 

Woodson Home